Sinfonia of Cambridge does Schubert UK Premiere
Wonderful start to their new season with fresh sounds’

Sinfonia of Cambridge got off to a wonderful start to their new season with three beefy and challenging pieces including a UK premiere of a new Schubert orchestration that worked a treat.

Conducted by internationally renowned maestro Howard Williams, the Schubert premiere – actually a recently completed orchestration of his famous string quartet known as ‘Death and the Maiden’ – was very cleverly constructed by conductor Andras Vass – a former colleague of Williams……….

Marie-Noelle Kendall

……….While there was a definite loss in the intimacy of the original, the Vass version and the assured playing by the orchestra felt like we were hearing this music for the first time. The trombones and horns (plus a very effective woodwind section) gave the four movements a sense of high drama without ever going over the top. ……… Given that this score must have been totally new to the players, they made an excellent fist of bringing it all together.

The concert had opened with Prometheus Overture by Beethoven. Beginning with a great orchestral outburst, the overture rapidly lightens and the success of the piece depends on the orchestra getting the right balance of light and shade. Williams drew a big meaty sound from the band with all sections playing well and listening intently to each other. It was an exciting curtain raiser.

The one work after the interval was a biggie. Brahms’ First Piano Concerto is a huge beast – more symphony with piano than traditional concerto. At 45 minutes, it is one of the longest of the genre but soloist Marie-Noelle Kendall made every note count and with excellent support, the whole work seemed to fly by. The strongly dramatic opening made one’s hair stand on end and the piano entry confirmed that this was going to be an equally strong reading full of high drama and beauty. Though the soloist played from a score, it didn’t seem to detract from her interpretation……. Kendall and the orchestra gave a suitably gorgeous rendition of Brahms’ lovely and melodious slow movement and the dance-like finale generated a huge amount of musical energy.

You can never accuse Cambridge’s many excellent orchestras of being timid in their choice of programme.

Mike Levy       Saturday 07 Oct 2017
Click here to see the full review. Subscription required.



‘In the Britten, Miriam Kramer had a beautiful tone which oozed over the stage in a virtuosic solo with impressive tessitura passages. The concerto was outstanding and very well received.’

The Sibelius is a celebration of Finnish national identity, and the woodwind section’s strong solo playing was accordingly glorifying. Tight percussion marched the ensemble along in a jaunty fashion. ………… the effect was very convincing overall.

In the Britten, Miriam Kramer’s violin had a beautiful tone, oozing over the stage in a virtuosic solo with impressive high tessitura passages. Kramer put everything into the darker, faster sections with conductor Christopher Adey extracting great energy from the orchestra. His baton-less style had less of the metronomic exactitude of others, enabling him to shape the sound like clay. The concerto was outstanding and was very well received.

Mahler’s Fourth Symphony is obsessed with the past, and the neoclassical Schubertian swells and nods to Beethoven were understood well by the orchestra. …………

Laurie Kent of THE TAB OF CAMBRIDGE  January 2011